Star Wars Episode IX

The Rise of Skywalker

Directed by
J. J. Abrams
Produced by
Kathleen Kennedy
J. J. Abrams
Michelle Rejwan
Screenplay by
Music by
John Williams
Daisy Ridley
Adam Driver
John Boyega
Oscar Isaac
Lupita Nyong'o
Domhnall Gleeson
Kelly Marie Tran
Joonas Suotamo
Billie Lourd
Naomi Ackie
Richard E. Grant
Keri Russell
Mark Hamill
Anthony Daniels
Billy Dee Williams
Carrie Fisher
Ian McDiarmid
The Rise of Skywalker Star Wars Movie Poster

Star Wars Episode VIII: The Rise of Skywalker is the third installment of the Star Wars sequel trilogy and the ninth installment of the main Star Wars film franchise.

It was produced by Lucasfilm and Bad Robot Productions. It was distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. The film's ensemble cast includes Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Domhnall Gleeson, Kelly Marie Tran, Richard E. Grant, Keri Russell, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Carrie Fisher, Billy Dee Williams, and Ian McDiarmid.

The Rise of Skywalker will see the Resistance face the First Order once more, and the end of the ancient conflict between the Jedi and the Sith.

Principal photography began in August 2018 at Pinewood Studios in England, and wrapped in February 2019.

A year after the events of The Last Jedi, the remnants of the Resistance face the First Order once again—while reckoning with the past and their own inner turmoil. Meanwhile, the ancient conflict between the Jedi and the Sith reaches its climax, altogether bringing the Skywalker saga to a definitive end.

More details are to come.